Aussie Pitmasters Forum

Australias Best BBQ Forum
It is currently Wed Oct 24, 2018 7:14 am

All times are UTC+11:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 165 posts ]  Go to page Previous 113 14 15 16 17 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2016 8:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2014 3:35 pm
Posts: 673
Barney wrote:
[quote="Matt"]I have to make one of these.

Dude, if you order the gear and get it sent to my place I'll put it together for you in appreciation for your help next month, if you're still keen

Here are the links:

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/12V-PID-Digi ... SwjVVVpiyK

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/DC-12V-0-45A ... SwT5tWFcLx[/quote]

Umm I only just saw this now and I'm super keen.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 9:28 pm
Posts: 8
Got my pit control up and going finally. Temp is a little off compared to the Maverick. Temp fluctuations are about 10deg above set temp and 5 deg below.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 12:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 9:15 pm
Posts: 43
It should hold pretty much dead on with no fluctuations.
Any air leaks as such?
Have you got the PID set up correctly?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2016 10:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 02, 2016 11:21 am
Posts: 1
Thanks for everybody's input.

I ordered all the parts and put it together a couple of weekends ago. I have tested it twice and both times it performed very well. It will overshoot by 5-10 degrees then cool down to the target temp before staying at the target +-1degree.

I have a couple of comments:
1) The box/case that is specified above is not deep enough and you have to cut out the lid to fit the PID. I should have checked this as I noticed that a few people did this in their photos. Really easy and cheap to fix (when I get around to it)
2) There was some talk of needing a flap to block the air going in while the fan is not running. I don't need this on my set-up on a Kamado Joe.
3) Don't think you can get all the parts for $50 anymore, however they are not much more.

Happy to answer any questions that anybody attempting to build this might have.

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2016 10:57 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 8:45 am
Posts: 3667
Nice work!!

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk

_________________
ImageImage
KCBS Melbourne 2015 - 9th/15 Outright
ABA Port Macquarie - 11th/45
- 3rd Lamb
KCBS Melbourne 2016 - 7th/17 Outright
- 2nd Chicken


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 8:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 5:31 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Ballarat
Wow! what a contraption! here i am thinking i may need a second mortgage for temp controller! You guys have all done a great job!

Im now looking at building one, while the build of the unit seems straight forward, my question is could you use it on an offset? im assuming it would go on the firebox towards the bottom? Has anyone else put on an offset?

_________________
Experienced Kettle Smoker, diving into Offsets!

Website | Instagram

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 9:03 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 8:45 am
Posts: 3667
Papagimp it could be used on an offset but only if the offset is run on charcoal.
With wood if you choke the air you get a dirty burn.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk

_________________
ImageImage
KCBS Melbourne 2015 - 9th/15 Outright
ABA Port Macquarie - 11th/45
- 3rd Lamb
KCBS Melbourne 2016 - 7th/17 Outright
- 2nd Chicken


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 9:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 5:31 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Ballarat
Beaver wrote:
Papagimp it could be used on an offset but only if the offset is run on charcoal.
With wood if you choke the air you get a dirty burn.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk


Of course! I still may build one for my kettles!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

_________________
Experienced Kettle Smoker, diving into Offsets!

Website | Instagram

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 10:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 9:52 am
Posts: 4
Could you use http://m.ebay.com.au/itm/DC-Converter-M ... Ciid%253A1
And plug in a 2.4a USB battery pack?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 10:44 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 8:45 am
Posts: 3667
Not really as you need 12v supply. That adaptor converts from 12 to 5v not 5v to 12v.
A car battery or hobby battery pack would work.
Any 12v battery pack really.
You would have to measure the draw of the unit over an hour to understand its usage.


Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk

_________________
ImageImage
KCBS Melbourne 2015 - 9th/15 Outright
ABA Port Macquarie - 11th/45
- 3rd Lamb
KCBS Melbourne 2016 - 7th/17 Outright
- 2nd Chicken


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 165 posts ]  Go to page Previous 113 14 15 16 17 Next

All times are UTC+11:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited